Iran's parliament elects Qalibaf as new speaker

Iran's parliament elects Qalibaf as new speaker
  • Clock-gray 11:17
  • calendar-gray 28 May 2020

The newly-elected Iranian MPs convened for a second time on Thursday and elected Mohammad Baqer Qalibaf as the Parliament speaker for the first year of the new Parliament, APA reports citing IRNA.

Qalibaf secured 230 votes out of a total of 264 votes cast to become Majlis speaker.

Fereydoon Abbasi and Mostafa Mirsalim, the other candidates, gained 17 and 12 votes, respectively after Qalibaf.

Amir-Hossein Ghazizadeh Hashemi from Mashad constituency and Ali Nikzad from Ardebil constituency received 208 and 196 votes will be elected first vice-speaker and second vice-speaker, respectively.


Other news