Armenia breaks ceasefire with Azerbaijan 25 times

Armenia breaks ceasefire with Azerbaijan 25 times
  • Clock-gray 07:30
  • calendar-gray 09 November 2016

Baku – APA. Over the last 24 hours, Armenian armed forces have 25 times violated the ceasefire with Azerbaijan along the contact line between the two countries’ troops, Azerbaijan’s Defense Ministry said on Nov. 9.


Armenian armed units stationed on nameless heights in Armenia’s Ijevan and Noyemberyan districts opened fire at the positions of Azerbaijani armed forces located in Bala Jafarli and Kemerli villages of Azerbaijan’s Qazakh district.


Meanwhile, Azerbaijani army positions located in Alibeyli, Aghdam and Kokhanabi villages of Tovuz district came under fire from Armenian positions located in Aygedzor and Chinari villages of Berd district.


Positions of Azerbaijani army also underwent fire from Armenian positions located on nameless heights in the occupied Terter, Khojavend, Fuzuli and Jabrayil districts.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.


Other news