Armenia breaks ceasefire with Azerbaijan 17 times in 24 hours

Armenia breaks ceasefire with Azerbaijan 17 times in 24 hours
  • Clock-gray 07:26
  • calendar-gray 12 November 2016

Baku – APA. Over the past 24 hours, Armenia’s armed forces have 17 times violated the ceasefire along the line of contact between Azerbaijani and Armenian troops using 60- and 82-mm mortars, Azerbaijan’s Defense Ministry said on Nov. 12.


Armenian armed units stationed in Berkaber, Paravakar villages of Armenia’s Ijevan district and Barekamavan village of Noyemberyan district opened fire at the positions of Azerbaijani armed forces located in Gizilhajili and Gaymagli villages and on nameless heights of Azerbaijan’s Gazakh district.


Moreover, the Azerbaijani army positions also underwent fire from the Armenian positions located in the Armenian-occupied Shikhlar, Sarijali villages of Aghdam district, Ashagi Seyidahmadli, Gorgan villages of Fuzuli district, Mehdili village of Jabrayil district, as well as on nameless heights of Goranboy and Khojavend districts.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996. 


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.


Other news