Armenia breaks ceasefire with Azerbaijan 116 times

Armenia breaks ceasefire with Azerbaijan 116 times
  • Clock-gray 08:09
  • calendar-gray 12 April 2017

Over the past 24 hours, Armenian armed forces have 116 times violated the ceasefire in various directions along the line of contact between Azerbaijani and Armenian troops, Azerbaijani Defense Ministry reported on April 12.


The Azerbaijani army positions located in Gizilhajili and Kamarli villages of Gazakh district underwent fire from the Armenian army positions located on nameless heights of Ijevan district and Noyemberyan district of Armenia.


Meanwhile, the Azerbaijani army positions located in Alibayli, Aghdam, Munjuglu, Aghbulag and Kokhanebi villages of Tovuz district were shelled from the Armenian army positions located in Aygepar, Mosesgekh and Chinari villages of Berd district of Armenia.


Moreover, the Azerbaijani army positions located on nameless heights of Gadabay district were shot at from the Armenian army positions located on the nameless heights of Krasnoselsk district of Armenia.


The Azerbaijani army positions were also shelled from the Armenian positions located near the Armenian-occupied Sarijali, Marzili, Shikhlar, Bash Gervend, Yusifjanli villages of Aghdam district, Gorgan, Horadiz, Garakhanbayli, Ashagi Seyidahmedli and Ashagi Veysalli Fuzuli district, as well as from the positions on nameless heights of Goranboy, Tartar, Jabrayil and Fuzuli districts of Azerbaijan.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996. 


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.


Ceyhun Aliyev

Other news