Armenia breaks ceasefire with Azerbaijan 125 times

Armenia breaks ceasefire with Azerbaijan 125 times
  • Clock-gray 08:16
  • calendar-gray 13 July 2017

Over the past 24 hours, Armenia’s armed forces have 125 times violated the ceasefire along the line of contact between Azerbaijani and Armenian troops, the Azerbaijani Defense Ministry told APA on July 13.


The Armenian armed forces were using 60-mm mortars (1 shell).


The Azerbaijani army positions in Kohnegishlag village of Agstafa district, Qaymaqli, Farahli, Gushchu Ayrim, Bala Jafarli villages and on nameless heights of Gazakh district underwent fire from the Armenian army positions located on nameless heights and in Shavarshavan, Voskevan villages of Noyemberyan district, as well as on nameless heights and in Paravakar village of Armenia’s Ijevan district.


Meanwhile, the Azerbaijani army positions in Aghdam, Kokhanabi, Esrik Jirdakhan and Aghbulag villages of Tovuz district of Azerbaijan were shelled from the Armenian army positions located in Mosesgekh and Chinari villages of Armenia’s Berd district.


The Azerbaijani army positions on nameless heights and in Qaraveliler village of Azerbaijan’s Gadabay district also underwent fire from Armenian army positions located on nameless heights of Armenia’s Krasnoselsk district.


Moreover, the Azerbaijani army positions were shelled from the Armenian positions located near the Armenian-occupied Goyarkh, Chilaburt villages of Tartar district, Namirli, Shuraabad, Taghibayli, Bash Garvand, Javahirli, Garagashli, Shirvanli, Novruzlu, Yusifjanli and Marzili villages of Aghdam district, Kuropatkino village of Khojavand district, Ashagi Veysalli, Garvand, Garakhanbayli, Gorgan, Goradiz villages of Fuzuli district, Nuzgar village of Jabrayil district, as well as from the positions located on nameless heights of the Goranboy, Tartar, Aghdam, Khojavand and Fuzuli districts of Azerbaijan.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.  


Ceyhun Aliyev

Other news