Armenia breaks ceasefire with Azerbaijan 118 times

Armenia breaks ceasefire with Azerbaijan 118 times
  • Clock-gray 08:19
  • calendar-gray 14 April 2017

Over the past 24 hours, Armenia’s armed forces have 118 times violated the ceasefire along the line of contact between Azerbaijani and Armenian troops, the Azerbaijani Defense Ministry said on April 14.


Armenians were using large-caliber machine guns and 82-millimeter mortars.


The Azerbaijani army positions in Gushchu Ayrim, Kamarli, Gizilhajili, Bala Jafarli villages and on nameless heights of Gazakh district underwent fire from the Armenian army positions located on nameless heights and in Voskevan village of Noyemberyan district, and on nameless heights of Ijevan district of Armenia.


Meanwhile, the Azerbaijani army positions located in Aghdam, Aghbulag, Munnjuglu and Alibayli villages of Azerbaijan’s Tovuz district were shelled from Armenian army positions located in Mosesgekh, Chinari, Aygepar villages of Armenia’s Berd district.


Moreover, the Azerbaijani army positions located on nameless heights of Gadabay district were shot at from the Armenian army positions located on nameless heights of Krasnoselsk district of Armenia.


The Azerbaijani army also underwent fire from the Armenian positions located near the Armenian-occupied Chilaburt village of Tartar district, Garagashli, Marzili, Shikhlar, Sarijali, Bash Gervend, Javahirli, Yusifjanli villages of Aghdam district, Kuropatkino village of Khojavand district, Gorgan, Horadiz, Ashagi Seyidahmadli villages of Fuzuli district, as well as from the positions located on nameless heights in Goranboy, Tartar, Aghdam, Khojavand and Fuzuli districts of Azerbaijan.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh. 


Other news