Armenia violates ceasefire with Azerbaijan 94 times

Armenia violates ceasefire with Azerbaijan 94 times
  • Clock-gray 07:44
  • calendar-gray 15 June 2018

Over the past 24 hours, Armenia’s armed forces have 94 times violated the ceasefire along the line of contact between Azerbaijani and Armenian troops, the Azerbaijani Defense Ministry told APA on June 15.


The Azerbaijani army’s positions in Bala Jafarli village in Gazakh district were shelled from the Armenian army’s positions located in Aygeovit village and on nameless heights in Ijevan district.


The Azerbaijani army positions located in Garalar village in Tovuz district were shelled from the Armenian army positions located on nameless heights in Armenia’s Berd district. 


Meanwhile, Armenia’s armed units stationed in Jil village and on nameless heights in Krasnoselsk district opened fire at the Azerbaijani army positions located in Zamanly village and on nameless heights in Gadabay district. 


Positions of the Azerbaijani army were also shelled from the positions located near the Armenian-occupied Goyarkh, Chilaburt, Yarymja villages of Terter district, Taghibeyli, Marzili villages of Aghdam district, Garakhanbayli, Gorgan, Kurdlar, Horadiz villages of Fuzuli district, Nuzgar and Mehdili villages of Jabrayil district, as well as from positions located on nameless heights in Goranboy, Terter, Aghdam, Fuzuli and Jabrayil districts.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.



Ceyhun Aliyev

Other news