SCO confirms Belarus' application for admission as member state

SCO confirms Belarus
# 15 July 2022 12:21 (UTC +04:00)

Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) Secretary-General Zhang Ming has confirmed Belarus's application for admission to the organization, APA reports citing Interfax.

"The Republic of Belarus has applied to join the SCO as a member state," the SCO press service quoted Zhang as saying on Friday.

Meanwhile, the formalization of Iran as an SCO member state is nearing completion, he said.

Earlier this week, Bakhtiyor Khakimov, Russia's special presidential representative in the SCO, said that Belarus has drafted an application to join the SCO.

Belarus currently holds observer status in the SCO.

Founded in 2001, the Shanghai Cooperation Organization consists of India, Kazakhstan, China, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan. Afghanistan, Iran, Mongolia, and Belarus are observer states, and Sri Lanka, Turkey, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Cambodia, and Nepal are partners.