New secretary general elected to PACE

New secretary general elected to PACE
  • Clock-gray 19:39
  • calendar-gray 26 January 2021

A secretary general has been elected to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE), APA’s European bureau reports.

According to the information, Despina Tsovilis has been elected the new secretary general of the PACE in the voting held today within the framework of the PACE winter session.

She will take office from March 1 and will hold this position during 5 years.

Note that Despina Tsovilis is the first woman who is elected to this position.

Beside that, the elections have been held to the post of Deputy Secretary General of the Council of Europe. Bjorn Borg from Norway has been elected to this post defeating the candidate from Turkey Leyla Kayacıka.

Aytan Abbasli

Other news