2018 World Cup group stage draw held

2018 World Cup group stage draw held
  • Clock-gray 18:06
  • calendar-gray 01 December 2017

The final draw for the 2018 World Cup in Russia took place on Friday at the Kremlin, APA reports.


The draw was attended by Russian President Vladimir Putin and FIFA President Gianni Infantino.


Speaking beforehand, Putin said: "The qualification matches were intense. The world's top 32 teams are awaiting the draw."


Putin also invited all supporters to visit Russia for the games.


Moscow will host 32 participants in 12 stadiums across 11 Russian cities from June 14 until July 15.


Russia drew Group A, with Saudi Arabia, Egypt, and Uruguay.


Argentina, Iceland, Croatia, Nigeria highlight Group D.


The groups set to compete in the World Cup are as follows:


Group A: Russia, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Uruguay


Group B: Portugal, Spain, Morocco, Iran


Group C: France, Australia, Peru, Denmark


Group D: Argentina, Iceland, Croatia, Nigeria


Group E: Brazil, Switzerland, Costa Rica, Serbia


Group F: Germany, Mexico, Sweden, South Korea


Group G: Belgium, Panama, Tunisia, England


Group H: Poland, Senegal, Colombia, Japan

Other news