OSCE: Azerbaijani, Armenian FMs agreed to meet again in near future under auspices of Co-Chairs

OSCE: Azerbaijani, Armenian FMs agreed to meet again in near future under auspices of Co-Chairs
# 23 August 2019 11:40 (UTC +04:00)

The OSCE Minsk Group Co-Chairs remain strongly committed to helping the sides achieve a lasting peaceful settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, OSCE Communication and Media Relations Section told APA.

It was stated that the Foreign Ministers have agreed to meet again in the near future under the auspices of the Co-Chairs.

“The sides typically announce the details of such a meeting simultaneously and at an appropriate time, usually a few days prior,” the report reads.

The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.
A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.
The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.
Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.
Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.
Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.

Nagorno Garabagh