‘Peace Ambassador’ of Armenia-Azerbaijan Peace Platform from Poland appointed

‘Peace Ambassador’ of Armenia-Azerbaijan Peace Platform from Poland appointed
  • Clock-gray 11:09
  • calendar-gray 24 April 2017

The co-coordinators of the Armenia-Azerbaijan Peace Platform, Susan Jaghinyan and Orkhan Nabiyev, met with the chairman of the Association for Polish-Azerbaijani Cooperation, Witold Olejnik, on April 24.


Future plans of the Armenia Azerbaijan Peace Platform were discussed during the meeting, APA reported.


Orkhan Nabiyev provided the guest with detailed information about the current activity and future plans of the Peace Platform. Suzan Jaghinyan, in turn, thanked the guest for cooperation with the Armenia Azerbaijan Peace Platform.


The sides agreed upon mutual cooperation between the Peace Platform and the Association of Polish-Azerbaijani Cooperation.


In his turn, Witold Olejnik emphasized that he supports peace building activity of the Armenia Azerbaijan Peace Platform and will deliver his support on this issue as a head of the Association for Polish-Azerbaijani Cooperation.


Then, the coordinators declared Witold Olejnik "Peace Ambassador” of the Armenia-Azerbaijan Peace Platform from Poland. 


For the purpose of contributing to a peaceful settlement of the Armenia-Azerbaijan Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, the Armenia-Azerbaijan Platform for Peace was established on December 6, 2016. The Platform is an initiative of the citizens of Azerbaijan and Armenia who wish to contribute to the peaceful settlement of the conflict.


The initiative on the creation of the Platform has generated the interest of the international community as well as attracted the high level of public attention in both conflicting states. A large number of well-known experts highly appreciated this initiative and stressed the very special role of the above-mentioned peacekeeping initiative in the process of the peaceful settlement of the conflict.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.




Other news