“Peace Ambassador” of Armenia-Azerbaijan Peace Platform from Ukraine appointed

“Peace Ambassador” of Armenia-Azerbaijan Peace Platform from Ukraine appointed
  • Clock-gray 15:55
  • calendar-gray 23 May 2017

The co-coordinator of the Armenia-Azerbaijan Peace Platform from Azerbaijan, Orkhan Nabiyev, on Tuesday met with Ukrainian scientist and public figure Tatiana Krupa, who is also a platform member.


During the meeting the sides discussed future plans of the Peace Platform.


Orkhan Nabiyev thanked the Ukrainian scientist for cooperation with the Peace Platform, providing her with detailed information about the platform’s current activity and future plans. 


The sides also reached an agreement on mutual cooperation with the Armenia-Azerbaijan Peace Platform.


In her turn, Tatyana Krupa expressed concern over the continuation of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict.


"People should not kill each other. Human life is the most valuable thing in the world. As a historian, I want to say that history should not divide people, because it is history of all human", she said.


Mrs. Krupa emphasized that she supports peace building activity of the Armenia Azerbaijan Peace Platform and will deliver her support on this issue.


At the end of the meeting Orkhan Nabiyev declared Tatiana Krupa as “Peace Ambassador” of the Armenia-Azerbaijan Peace Platform from Ukraine and awarded her a certificate. 


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.



Other news