Armenia breaks ceasefire with Azerbaijan over 1300 times in one month

Armenia breaks ceasefire with Azerbaijan over 1300 times in one month
  • Clock-gray 12:27
  • calendar-gray 31 December 2016

Armenian armed forces have 1316 times violated the ceasefire along the line of contact between Armenian and Azerbaijani troops in December 2016, according to the results of the APA’s monitoring based on the reports confirmed by the Azerbaijani Defense Ministry.


The Armenian military was using 60mm- and 82mm-caliber mortars, grenade launchers and heavy machine guns to shell Azerbaijani positions.


In December, Armenian armed forces shelled the Azerbaijani army positions located in the districts of Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Terter, Khojavend, Goranboy, Gazakh, Gadabay, Tovuz and Aghstafa.


This month, Armenian troops once again resorted to provocation to deliberate escalate situation on the frontline. The Azerbaijani military prevented the provocation, taking retaliatory measures.


In addition, a reconnaissance group of the Armenian Armed Forces tried to violate the Azerbaijan-Armenia state border on Dec. 29 morning. The Armenian group found itself in the ambush of the Azerbaijani army while violating the borders.


The enemy was forced to retreat with losses, according to the Azerbaijani Defense Ministry's message. Azerbaijani soldier Chingiz Gurbanov was killed while preventing the attack and his corpse was taken to the Armenian side.


In December, the Azerbaijani army shot down three unmanned aerial vehicles (UAV) belonging to the Armenian armed forces. The UAVs were destroyed while attempting to carry out reconnaissance flights over the Azerbaijani army positions.


Armenia violated the ceasefire with Azerbaijan 733 times in November.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.   

Other news