Armenian MFA and MoD differ on idea of returning part of occupied Azerbaijani territories

Armenian MFA and MoD differ on idea of returning part of occupied Azerbaijani territories
  • Clock-gray 13:25
  • calendar-gray 21 September 2017

Chief of General Staff of the Armenian Armed Forces Movses Hakobyan has raised his objection to Foreign Minister Edward Nalbandian’s statement of returning part of the occupied Azerbaijani territories, APA reports citing Rusarminfo news agency.


Hokabyan has argued that the whole of the occupied territory should be held under occupation and none of it be returned to Azerbaijan for security reasons.


“A security system has been created along Nagorno-Karabakh. The elimination of this system could bring on tragic consequences,” he added.


While addressing a panel session as part of the Armenia-Diaspora Forum in Yerevan on Sept. 19, Armenian Foreign Minister Edward Nalbandian has not excluded the possibility of returning some territories around Nagorno-Karabakh region to Azerbaijan.


“The matter here rests in those territories that will not threaten the Nagorno-Karabakh region in terms of security," Nalbandian said, adding that he can not disclose any other details. "Otherwise, negotiations will fail."


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.  


Other news