Azerbaijan organizes foreign journalists’ trip to liberated Jojug Marjanli

Azerbaijan organizes foreign journalists’ trip to liberated Jojug Marjanli
  • Clock-gray 08:15
  • calendar-gray 07 February 2017

Azerbaijan’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the State Committee for Affairs of Refugees and IDPs have jointly organized a trip for representatives of foreign media outlets to the liberated Jojug Marjanli village of the Jabrayil District.


The visit was organized in accordance with Azerbaijani President Ilham Aliyev’s order on measures to restore the Jojug Marjanli village, liberated from the Armenian occupation, Hikmat Hajiyev, spokesman for Azerbaijan’s Foreign Ministry, told APA on Tuesday.


The trip is attended by a group of nearly 30 people, including the representatives of Associated Press, Reuters news agencies, Turkish TRT channel, Anadolu news agency, Iranian media outlets operating in Azerbaijan, Russian press agencies, RIA Novosti, Interfax, etc.


During the trip, the media representatives will view the demining work underway in Jojug Marjanli and get information about the work done and planned activities.


On 24 January 2017, President Ilham Aliyev signed an order on measures to restore the Jabrayil District’s Jojug Marjanli village, liberated from the Armenian occupation.


The State Committee of Azerbaijan for Affairs of Refugees and IDPs will receive 4 million manats from the Presidential Reserve Fund for 2017 for construction of 50 houses, a school building and the relevant infrastructure at the first stage, according to the order.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.




Other news