Azerbaijani MP: Great powers can silence Armenia within hours

Azerbaijani MP: Great powers can silence Armenia within hours
  • Clock-gray 10:57
  • calendar-gray 08 May 2017

Great powers can silence Armenia within hours, Azerbaijani MP Yevda Abramov told reporters on Monday, APA reported.


The MP noted with regret that some great powers stand for Armenia, a state which has no value in the world history.


“How can we call it? Only “Christian solidarity”. As if the war is not waged between Azerbaijan and Armenia, but between the Islamic and Christian worlds. We need to find the courage to say that. It shows that the world is polarized and international law no longer works,” he said.    


He stressed that twenty-five years have passed since the occupation of Azerbaijan’s Shusha city by Armenia, but unfortunately great powers are still silent about the disasters that the Azerbaijani people were experiencing from time to time.


“They [great powers] avoid influencing small Armenian state using their strength and potential. All of this is regrettable. As for political aspects, the settlement of the Armenia-Azerbaijan conflict is dragging out,” said Abramov, adding. “How could it be that the resolutions adopted by the world’s biggest organization UN don’t work? However, the US, France and Russia can silence Armenia within hours. Unfortunately, these states remain silent for their own interests, in no way react to the fate of one million Azerbaijani internally displaced persons. However, we will sooner or later win a great victory and return to our native lands.” 


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.


Other news