Bahar Muradova: Russia capable of influencing Karabakh conflict settlement

Bahar Muradova: Russia capable of influencing Karabakh conflict settlement
  • Clock-gray 10:06
  • calendar-gray 19 January 2017

Russia, which enjoys friendly ties and strategic partnership with Azerbaijan, has capabilities to seriously influence the settlement of the Armenia-Azerbaijan Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, Bahar Muradova, Azerbaijani Parliament Vice-Speaker, told reporters on Thursday.  


She was commenting on remarks recently made by Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov on the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict.


Muradova noted that Azerbaijani Foreign Minister Elmar Mammadyarov openly expressed his position on this issue.


“I fully agree with Mammadyarov’s statement. We are expecting real action for a solution to the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict rather than someone else’s views of different meanings,” the vice-speaker said.


Muradova said she believes the Russian FM should have given an adequate explanation regarding the current situation. “I think Elmar Mammadyarov responded to it in his statement,” she added.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.


Other news