Chairman of Association for Polish-Azerbaijani Cooperation joins Armenia-Azerbaijan Peace Platform

Chairman of Association for Polish-Azerbaijani Cooperation joins Armenia-Azerbaijan Peace Platform
  • Clock-gray 14:07
  • calendar-gray 17 April 2017

Chairman of Association for Polish-Azerbaijani Cooperation Witold Olejnik, has made a statement about joining the Armenia-Azerbaijan Platform for Peace.


APA presents the statement:


“I consider that the peaceful solution as the only possible way to end Nagorno-Karabakh conflict. However, it is necessary to implement it within territorial integrity, sovereignty and internationally recognized borders of Azerbaijan and Armenia.


As a European enterprise, we share values and importance of international law, therefore our support for Platform based on official statements and resolutions, that had been made by OSCE Minsk Group, UN Security Council, European Union, Council of Europe and broad international community. For that reason, I want to emphasize the importance of relevant resolutions of UN Security Council, including resolutions and decisions adopted by other international organizations. In addition, I want to note the necessity of activities of OSCE Minsk Group towards the peaceful solution of the conflict.


Armenian and Azerbaijani nations have lived in peace for centuries. However, the perception of young generations in both countries has formed in the context of war, as the result of unresolved conflict and it is a great disaster. I support peaceful co-existence of nations and the settlement of the conflict that has been lasting for a long time.


We hope that Armenia-Azerbaijan Platform for Peace contribute strongly to the establishment of friendly relations between two conflicted nations and as a Chairman I want to assure our support in this endeavor.”


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, KalbajarAghdamFuzuliJabrayilGubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACEOSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh. 




Other news