Nothing new in Hoagland’s latest statement: Russian MFA

Nothing new in Hoagland’s latest statement: Russian MFA
  • Clock-gray 15:27
  • calendar-gray 31 August 2017

The latest statement by former US co-chair of the OSCE Minsk Group Richard Hoagland contains nothing new, Russian Foreign Ministry spokesperson Maria Zakharova told a briefing on Thursday, an APA correspondent reported from Moscow.


“There is nothing new in Hoagland’s latest statement. The Russian, US and French presidents repeatedly shared the same views in their joint statements on the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict,” said Zakharova.  


Moscow welcomes the appointment of a new American co-chair of the OSCE Minsk Group, noted the spokesperson. “The Minsk Group in the updated composition will continue make efforts for a peaceful settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict. We hope that the previous team approach will continue to be maintained,” she added.    


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.










Other news