Moscow comments on planned “referendum” in Nagorno-Karabakh

Moscow comments on planned “referendum” in Nagorno-Karabakh
  • Clock-gray 08:40
  • calendar-gray 17 February 2017

Russia does not recognize Nagorno-Karabakh as an independent state, the Russian Foreign Ministry told APA on Thursday.


The ministry was commenting on an illegal “referendum” planned to be held in Nagorno-Karabakh, an Azerbaijani region occupied by Armenia.


“We believe that the status of Nagorno-Karabakh should be determined though political negotiations within the Minsk process. However, we do not think a peaceful settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict can depend on holding the planned "constitutional referendum", said Russia’s foreign ministry.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.




Other news