Moscow says OSCE Minsk Group co-chairs’ latest statement fully reflects its stance

Moscow says OSCE Minsk Group co-chairs’ latest statement fully reflects its stance
  • Clock-gray 11:10
  • calendar-gray 22 June 2017

The statement of the OSCE Minsk Group co-chairs concerning the results of their recent visit to the region fully reflects the Russian Foreign Ministry’s stance on the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, Russian Foreign Ministry spokeswoman Maria Zakharova said Thursday, APA reported.


The co-chairs’ statement includes Russia’s stance and the assessment of developments in the region, she added.


Zakharova also noted that the theme of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict resolution continues to be on the agenda of the Russian Foreign Ministry.


The diplomat stressed that the Karabakh settlement was not discussed during the Moscow meeting of the Russian and French foreign ministers on June 20.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.


Other news