Next meeting of Azerbaijani, Armenian FMs to be held in a European country

Next meeting of Azerbaijani, Armenian FMs to be held in a European country
# 20 December 2017 09:33 (UTC +04:00)

Azerbaijan’s Foreign Minister Elmar Mammadyarov said on Wednesday that he would meet with his Armenian counterpart Edward Nalbandian in a European country.

"The OSCE Minsk Group co-chairs will announce the date of the meeting, but there is an agreement on holding the meeting mid-January 2018," Mammadyarov said at a joint press conference following the fifth trilateral meeting with his Iranian and Turkish counterparts in Baku, APA reports.

The minister said that the meeting will take place in a European country.

"The co-chairs will evaluate the discussions recently held in Vienna and arrive at a decision. I have said that I wouldn’t mind negotiating for even two days, if it is going to yield results," added Mammadyarov.

The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.

A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.

The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.

Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.

Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.

Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.

Nagorno Garabagh