OIC Contact Group mulls Armenia’s aggression against Azerbaijan at UN

OIC Contact Group mulls Armenia’s aggression against Azerbaijan at UN
  • Clock-gray 08:25
  • calendar-gray 20 September 2017

The Contact Group of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) in connection with Armenia’s aggression against Azerbaijan held a meeting on the sidelines of the 72nd Regular Session of the UN General Assembly in New York, the Azerbaijani Foreign Ministry told APA on Wednesday.


Azerbaijan’s President Ilham Aliyev is also taking part in the UN General Assembly’s session.


It was noted that after the first meeting of the OIC Contact Group, the situation on the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict’s settlement process didn’t change, on the contrary, clashes on the frontline, as well as cases of deliberate killing of Azerbaijani civilians residing along the contact line between the Armenian and Azerbaijani troops increased.


The Azerbaijani side urged OIC members to make endeavors in order for the war crimes, crimes against humanity, and acts of genocide carried out in Khojaly town and other occupied Azerbaijani territories to be recognized at national and international levels.


Under OIC’s relevant resolutions and decisions concerning Armenian aggression against Azerbaijan, all the member states were urged to abstain from providing Armenia with any kind of weaponry and military equipment so as not to aggravate the conflict and cause the occupation of Azerbaijani lands to continue, and not to let their territories be used as a transit for the delivery of weaponry, either.


Moreover, it was emphasized that in accordance with the OIC resolutions necessary political-economic measures should be taken in order to support the efforts to put an end to Armenia’s aggression on Azerbaijan and that OIC members must refrain from illegal economic and other activities in the occupied territories and restrict all forms of cooperation with Armenia.   


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.



Other news