Tehran says Karabakh conflict cannot be resolved by one country

Tehran says Karabakh conflict cannot be resolved by one country
  • Clock-gray 12:05
  • calendar-gray 01 May 2017

There are two major factors in respect of a peaceful settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict: time and the seriousness of the conflicting parties, said Iranian Foreign Ministry spokesman Bahram Qasemi.


Qasemi made the remarks when asked by an APA correspondent to comment on Russia’s role in the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict and its recent activity in the efforts to resolve the problem.  


He noted that territorial conflicts like the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict cannot be resolved in consideration of one factor.


“There are many factors playing roles in peace settlement. They all need to be taken together so that the conflict can be resolved. Therefore, I suppose it’s wrong to think that the crisis can be solved by one person or country. The solution to the conflict is through a total consideration of all the factors that would play their role in resolving the conflict,” Qasemi said, noting that one of the central factors in this respect is people.


“There needs to be a serious approach to this issue. The Karabakh crisis cannot be settled except through considering the people’s role, which will be the key to resolving the conflict,” he added.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.


Other news