World’s superpowers not interested in resolving Karabakh problem – ISESCO

World’s superpowers not interested in resolving Karabakh problem – ISESCO
  • Clock-gray 10:00
  • calendar-gray 22 December 2017

The world’s superpowers are not interested in resolving the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, ISESCO Director General Abdulaziz Othman Altwaijri said Friday, APA reported.


According to him, although the UN adopted four resolutions on the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, none of them has been fulfilled.


"The resolutions also point out that the aggressor must immediately withdraw from the occupied territories of Azerbaijan,” said the ISESCO chief.


Abdulaziz Othman Altwaijri said the Islamic world, faced with severe hardships, should work together to overcome all these difficulties.


"The main reason behind this severe situation in our region is that superpowers of the world do injustice by not observing international law. Sometimes they aggravate the situation rather than make an effort to solve the problem. If the UN Security Council fails to ensure peace and security in a region and fulfill its duty, what should we expect from other organizations?!” he added.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.




Other news