Ziyafat Asgarov: Armenian side gets retaliated against and so will it always be

Ziyafat Asgarov: Armenian side gets retaliated against and so will it always be
  • Clock-gray 10:01
  • calendar-gray 01 June 2017

The Armenian side is escalating the situation not only on the front line, but on many other fronts. They get retaliated against and so will it always be, First Vice-Speaker of the Azerbaijani Parliament Ziyafat Asgarov said Thursday, APA reported.


He said that the Armenian side made provocative statements at the NATO Parliamentary Assembly session in Tbilisi recently. 


“Our delegation gave them their response. Many times were we able to prove that Armenia is indeed an invader. This state has invaded 20 percent of Azerbaijani land. There are more than a million refugees and IDPs, 300 of whom are children. We always raise this issue during international events, exposing the true colors of Armenians. There are international and historical documents that rely on. With these documents we gave our European counterparts some information and let them know what the current situation is like,” noted Asgarov.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.


Ceyhun Aliyev

Other news