Ethiopian parliament approves appointment of new cabinet members

Ethiopian parliament approves appointment of new cabinet members
# 01 November 2016 18:31 (UTC +04:00)

Baku-APA. The House of Peoples' Representatives (Ethiopian Parliament) on Tuesday endorsed a proposal by Ethiopian Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn of appointment of new cabinet members in the East African country, APA reports quoting Xinhua.


The prime minister had promised to reshuffle his government, and in the reshuffle, 21 newly appointed members of the new cabinet have sworn in.


Nine of the ministers in the 30-member cabinet, including Deputy Prime Minister Demeke Mekonnen, and Siraj Fegessa, Minister of Defense will remain in their current positions.


The other officials, who will continue in their current positions, include, Kassa Tekleberhan, Minister of Federal Affairs and Pastoral Area Development; Debretsion Gebremichael, Minister of Communication and Information Technology.


The officials, who retain their current position, also include, Ahmed Abitew, Minister of Industry; Getachew Ambaye, Federal Attorney General; Abdulfetah Abdulah, Minister of Labor and Social Affairs; Yinager Dese, Commissioner for National Planning Commission; and Asmelash Woldesilassie, Chief Government Whip.


Worqneh Gebeyehu, who was Minister of Transport, has been appointed a Minister of Foreign Affairs in the new cabinet, while Abraham Tekeste, has been appointed a Minister of Finance & Economic Cooperation, and Bekele Gulado, a Minister of Trade.


Eyasu Abrha has been appointed Minister of Farming and Natural resources; and Shiferaw Tekele-Mariam and Yifru Berhane have been appointed Ministers of Education and Health respectively.


Ahmed Shide has been appointed Minister of Transport; and Aisha Mohammed, Minister of Construction; Sileshi Bekele, Minister of Water, Irrigation & Electricity; and Motuma Mekassa, Minister of Mines, Petroleum & Natural Gas.