Armenia continues violating ceasefire with Azerbaijan

Armenia continues violating ceasefire with Azerbaijan
# 21 April 2017 08:04 (UTC +04:00)

Over the past 24 hours, Armenian armed forces have 140 times violated the ceasefire along the line of contact between the Azerbaijani and Armenian troops, Azerbaijan’s Defense Ministry told APA on April 21.


The Azerbaijani army positions in Gaymagli and Gushchu Ayrim villages of Gazakh district came under fire from the Armenian army positions located in Barekamavan, Voskevan villages of Noyemberyan district of Armenia.


Meanwhile, the Azerbaijani army positions in Aghbulag village of Tovuz district were shelled from the Armenian army positions located in Chinari, Aygedzor villages of Armenia’s Berd district.


The Azerbaijani army positions on nameless heights of Gadabay district underwent fire from the Armenian army position located on nameless heights of Krasnoselsk district of Armenia.


The Azerbaijani army were also shelled from the Armenian positions located near the Armenian-occupied Goyarkh, Yarimja, Chilaburt villages of Tartar district, Marzili, Javahirli, Yusifjanli and Novruzlu villages of Aghdam district, Gorgan, Garakhanbayli, Ashagi Veysalli and Ashagi Seyidahmadli villages of Fuzuli district, as well as from the positions on nameless heights in Goygol, Goranboy, Tartar, Aghdam and Fuzuli districts of Azerbaijan.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.