Armenia 155 times breaks ceasefire with Azerbaijan

# 08:08
30 August 2017

Over the past 24 hours, Armenia’s armed forces, using heavy machine guns, have 155 times violated the ceasefire along the line of contact between Azerbaijani and Armenian troops, the Azerbaijani Defense Ministry told APA on Aug. 30.


Azerbaijani army positions in Kohnegishlag village of Agstafa district, on nameless heights and in Kamarli, Gaymagli, Farahli villages of Gazakh district underwent fire from the Armenian army positions located on nameless heights and in Shavarshavan village of Noyemberyan district, as well as on nameless heights and in Paravakar village of Ijevan district.


Meanwhile, Azerbaijani army positions on nameless heights and in Aghdam, Kokhanabi, Agbulag, Munjuglu villages of Tovuz district of Azerbaijan were shelled from the Armenian army positions located on nameless heights and in Mosesgekh, Chinari, Aygedzor villages of Armenia’s Berd district.


Azerbaijani army positions on nameless heights and in Goyali, Zamanli villages of Gadabay district underwent fire from the Armenian army positions located on nameless heights of Krasnoselsk district.


Moreover, Azerbaijani army positions were shelled from the Armenian positions located near the Armenian-occupied Goyarkh, Chilaburt, Yarimja villages of Tartar district, Bash Garvand, Javahirli, Garagashli, Kengerli, Sarijali, Novruzlu, Yusifjanli and Marzili villages of the Aghdam district, Kuropatkino village of Khojavand district, Ashagi Veysalli, Gobu Dilagarda, Garvand, Garakhanbayli, Gorgan and Horadiz villages of Fuzuli district, Nuzgar and Mehdili villages of Jabrayil district, as well as from the positions located on nameless heights of Goygol, Goranboy, Tartar, Aghdam and Khojavand districts of Azerbaijan.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.