Armenia continues violating ceasefire with Azerbaijan

# 07:47
28 February 2017

Over the last 24 hours, Armenian armed forces have 145 times violated the ceasefire in various directions along the line of contact between Azerbaijani and Armenian troops, Azerbaijan’s Defense Ministry told APA on Feb. 28.


The Armenian military was using 60- and 82-mm mortars, large-caliber machine guns, and grenade launchers (68 shells) to shell the Azerbaijani army positions.


Armenian armed units stationed on nameless heights and in Paravakar village of Armenia’s Ijevan district opened fire at the positions of Azerbaijani armed forces located on nameless heights of Azerbaijan’s Gazakh district.


Meanwhile, the Azerbaijani army positions located on nameless heights and in Aghdam, Munjuglu villages of Azerbaijan’s Tovuz district came under fire from the Armenian positions located on nameless heights and in Mosesgeh, Aygedzor villages of Armenia’s Berd district.


The Azerbaijani army positions were also shelled from the Armenian positions located in the Armenian-occupied Goyarkh and Chilaburt villages of Terter district, Garagashli and Shikhlar villages of Aghdam district, Garakhanbeyli, Horadiz and Ashaghi Veysalli village of Fuzuli district as well as from the positions located on nameless heights of Goranboy, Terter, Aghdam and Fuzuli districts of Azerbaijan.


In accordance with the operational situation, the Azerbaijani Army took adequate retaliatory actions against the enemy.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.