Armenia violates ceasefire with Azerbaijan 113 times

Armenia violates ceasefire with Azerbaijan 113 times
# 24 April 2017 08:10 (UTC +04:00)

Over the past 24 hours, Armenia’s armed forces have 113 times violated the ceasefire along the line of contact between Azerbaijani and Armenian troops, the Azerbaijani Defense Ministry said on April 24. 


Armenians were using 60-millimeter mortars.


The Azerbaijani army positions in Bala Jafarli, Qaymaqli, Farakhli, Qushchu Ayrim, Kamarli villages of Gazakh district underwent fire from the Armenian army positions located on the nameless heights of Ijevan district, as well as in Voskevan, Shavarshavan and Dovekh villages of Armenia’s Noyemberyan district.


Meanwhile, the Azerbaijani army positions in Munjuglu and Kokhanabi villages of Tovuz district were shelled from the Armenian army positions located in Aygedzor, Chinari villages of Armenia’s Berd district.


Moreover, the Azerbaijani army positions were shelled from the Armenian positions located near the Armenian-occupied Chilaburt village of Tartar district, Marzili, Yusifjanli and Javakhirli villages of Aghdam district, Kuropatkino village of Khojavand district, Gorgan, Horadiz, Ashagi Veyselli villages of Fuzuli district, as well as from the positions located on nameless heights in Goranboy, Tartar, Khojavand, Fuzuli and Jabrayil districts of Azerbaijan.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.