Baltic states ban entrance to Lukashenko, 29 more Belarusian officials

# 19:15
31 August 2020

The Latvian Foreign Ministry banned Belarusian President Alexander Lukashenko and 29 more Belarusian officials from entering the country in light of developments that followed the recent presidential election; Lithuanian and Estonian authorities had taken similar measures, the Baltic states said Monday, APA reports citing TASS.

"Based on the decision of the Latvian cabinet of ministers and in coordination with foreign ministries of Estonia and Lithuania, Latvian Foreign Minister Edgars Rinkevics decided to indefinitely ban entry to Latvia for 30 officials of Belarus," the Latvian Foreign Ministry said in a statement.

"By imposing sanctions, we demonstrate our serious attitude to human rights violations in Belarus," Estonian Foreign Minister Urmas Reinsalu noted. In turn, Vilnius pointed out that the Department of Migration under the Interior Ministry added the names of the Belarusian officials to the list of foreigners who are not allowed to enter the country.