EBRD shareholders reject Russia’s complaint

# 15:46
10 May 2017

EBRD shareholder countries have rejected Moscow’s complaint against EBRD, which stopped cooperation with Russia duet o annexation of Crimea. The decision was made in EBRD Board of Governors in Cyprus.


According to RIA Novosti, Belarus, Kyrgyzstan, Armenia and Mongolustan voted for Russia, Azerbaijan and Uzbekistan remained neutral.  


The EBRD imposed the ban as part of a series of Western sanctions after Moscow's illegal annexation of Ukraine's Crimean Peninsula in 2014 and support for separatists in eastern Ukraine.


At today’s meeting, Russian delegation said this decision was illegitime.


EBRD president Suma Chakrabarti said this is a final decision and should be executed.