OSCE PA’s 27th annual session begins

OSCE PA’s 27th annual session begins
# 07 July 2018 09:48 (UTC +04:00)

The OSCE PA is holding the 27th annual session today.

The session will be held in Berlin from July 7 to 11, APA reports.

The committees will discuss OSCE commitments in the military-political sphere, ways to resolve conflicts, combating terrorism, climate change, environmental impacts of conflicts, digital technologies, human rights in emergencies, refugee and migrant rights.

There will be discussions on the theme "Fulfillment of commitments within the OSCE: The role of parliaments". A draft resolution on "Strengthening mutual relations in the OSCE region through the development of transport networks, including the restoration of the Ancient Silk Road" will be presented at the event. Furthermore, the session will pass resolutions on prevention of terrorism and extremism, combating the promotion of war and hatred in the OSCE territory, promoting peace and security through the creation of opportunities for comprehensive youth development, combating gender violence, approval of commitments to ensure efficiency in OSCE activities and other documents.

At the end of the session, which is expected to bring together 300 parliamentarians, the Berlin Declaration will be adopted to help shape the policy of national governments, parliaments and the international community in the political, security, economic, environmental and human rights areas.

Within the framework of the session, the OSCE PA will also hold presidential and vice presidential elections.

A new representative will be appointed to replace former Special Representative on the South Caucasus Kristian Vigenin.

It should be noted that a group of MPs led by Deputy Speaker of the Azerbaijani Parliament, head of Azerbaijan’s delegation to the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly Bahar Muradova is on a visit to the German capital to participate in the annual session.

The delegation is made up of MP, OSCE PA Vice-President Azay Guliyev, MPs Ulviyya Aghayeva, Tahir Mirkishili, Elshad Hasanov and Kamran Nabizade.