28 years pass since occupation of Azerbaijan's Khojavand by Armenia

28 years pass since occupation of Azerbaijan
# 02 October 2020 00:00 (UTC +04:00)

28 years have passed since the occupation of Azerbaijan's Khojavand, APA reports.

Khojavand was occupied by Armenian armed forces on 2 October 1992. Its total area was 1,458 square kilometers. Khojavand district connects one city (Khojavand), 2 towns (Hadrut and Qirmizi Bazar) and 81 villages.

On October 30, 1991 Tug and Salakatin, on November 15 Khatai, on November 19 Khojavand villages, settled by Azerbaijanis, were occupied by Armenians, and on January 9, 1992 Akhullu was invaded.

On February 17, 1992 Armenians committed very cruel violence in Qaradagli village, killed majority of population ruthlessly.

On October 2, 1992 Amirallar, Mughanly and Kuropatkin villages, on July 23, 1993 Gunashli village were invaded and set on fire by Armenian armed forces.

During the Karabakh war which began in February 1988, 145 people – among them 13 women and 13 children – were martyred in Khojavand district. As a result of the occupation, 1723 houses, 47 industrial facilities, 32 healthcare facilities, 59 cultural objects and 10 historical monuments were destroyed.

Territory of Khojavand was rich of natural resources and archeological monuments including the ancient Azykh Cave (1.2 million years B.C.) Qirmizi Temple (X century), an Albanian Temple (X), Albanian cemetery (I-V), Albanian Church (V) in Tug village, Albanian cemetery in Qaradagli village (III-VI), Damirov and Dagdagan holy places of Salakatin village, Cicim establishments nearby Khojavend settlement,  Bahramli shrine in Amirallar village, Seyed Reza dome (XIV) in Muganly village, Pir in Qaradagli village, and others. They have been destroying by Armenians for 25 years.

In total, the district was damaged for more than $ 1 billion. At present, up to 13,000 Khojavand residents live in about 40 cities and regions of the country.

The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.

A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.

The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.
Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.

Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.

Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh. 

Nagorno Garabagh