Community chairman: “Sergey Lavrov’s “Nagorno Garabagh population” words are neat response to Armenian side”

# 16:17
1 July 2020

“Yesterday, the online meeting was held with the participation of ministers of foreign affairs of Azerbaijan and Armenia, OSCE Minsk Group co-chairs, as well as the personal representative of the Chairperson-in-Office of the OSCE Andrzej Kasprzyk. The current situation in the area of the solution of the Armenia-Azerbaijan conflict was discussed at the meeting. During the meeting, the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Armenia Zohrab Mnatsakanyan attempting to distort the essence of the conflict tried to present the Armenian community of the occupied Nagorno Garabagh region of Azerbaijan as “people””, said the head of the Azerbaijani community of the Nagorno Garabagh region of the Azerbaijan Republic Tural Ganjaliyev, APA reports.

As Head of the Azerbaijani Community of Nagorno Garabagh region of the Republic of Azerbaijan, I declare that concept of "Nagorno Garabagh people” does not exist, there is just a concept of the population of Nagorno Garabagh region, which covers Armenian and Azerbaijani communities of the region. I remind that Russian Foreign Ministers Sergey Lavrov used the phrase “population of Nagorno Garabagh” during one of his last visits to Baku and it is a neat response to the Armenian side”, said head of the Community.

T. Ganjaliyev noted that as it was also mentioned in the final document of Helsinki summit of CSCE (current OSCE) held in March 1992, Armenia and Azerbaijan are conflict sides, while Azerbaijani and Armenian communities of Nagorno Garabagh region of Azerbaijan are interested sides of the conflict: “Armenian FM’s attempt to distort the format of the conflict is one more indicator of Armenia’s non-constructive position and it has been calculated to delay achieving final peace. I state again Azerbaijani and Armenian communities of Nagorno Garabagh region of the Republic of Azerbaijan can live together in peace only within the internationally recognized borders of the Republic of Azerbaijan.”