‘Syrian Armenians to flee Karabakh at earliest opportunity’

‘Syrian Armenians to flee Karabakh at earliest opportunity’
# 21 October 2016 09:59 (UTC +04:00)

Baku. Ramiz Mikayiloglu – APA. “The Syrian Armenians who are settled in Nagorno-Karabakh will flee there at the earliest opportunity. Some are already doing so,” Bayram Safarov, chairman of the “Azerbaijani Community of Nagorno-Karabakh” Public Union, told reporters on Friday.


He said those Armenians had lived quite a free life where they came from.


“The Armenian government and lobby are trying to get Syrian Armenian settled in Nagorno-Karabakh. What’s even worse is that many of them are sent to empty military posts along the contact line,” added Safarov. “Syrian Armenians are not going to stay there for long. They will flee at the earliest opportunity. Some are already doing so, because they just can’t live in those adverse conditions, in poverty.”


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.


Nagorno Garabagh