France’s new interior minister is member of so-called France-Artsakh friendship circle

France’s new interior minister is member of so-called France-Artsakh friendship circle
# 07 December 2016 11:40 (UTC +04:00)

The newly-appointed Interior Minister of France, Bruno Le Roux, is on the blacklist of Azerbaijan’s Foreign Ministry, ministry spokesman Hikmat Hajiyev told APA


“Le Roux, who was then a member of the French Parliament, went on a trip to the Armenian-occupied Azerbaijani territories in September 2015. As a result, his name was blacklisted by Azerbaijan’s Foreign Ministry,” Hajiyev said, adding. “Anyone—regardless of his position or identity—who has violated the laws, territorial integrity, and sovereignty of the Republic of Azerbaijan must be blacklisted. Everyone is equal before the law.”


Note that, Le Roux is a member of the so-called French-Artsakh friendship circle. 


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.  


Nagorno Garabagh