Azerbaijan removes Bulgarian traveler from ‘black list’

Azerbaijan removes Bulgarian traveler from ‘black list’
# 10 November 2016 09:38 (UTC +04:00)

Baku. Malahat Najafova – APA. Bulgarian citizen and traveler Valentin Dreharski, who is an employee of Besttechnia TM-Rodimo PAD company, has been removed from the list of undesirable people of Azerbaijan’s Foreign Ministry.


“Valentine Dreharski, sending a letter to Azerbaijan’s Foreign Ministry, reaffirmed his full respect to the territorial integrity and sovereignty of Azerbaijan within its internationally recognized borders, inter alia, the laws and regulations of Azerbaijan,” said a statement from the Foreign Ministry on Nov. 10.


He stressed that his visit to Azerbaijani territories occupied by Armenia was not intentional and he was unaware about the consequences of this visit.


Expressing regret over his illegal visit to the occupied territories, Dreharski stressed that the visit in no case was aimed at promoting the so-called regime created in the occupied Azerbaijani territories and attested that he will refrain from such visits in the future.


“Against the background of aforementioned, he asked from the relevant authorities of Azerbaijan to give an authorization for his visit to the country. After considering Dreharski’s appeal, his name was excluded from the list of undesirable people of the Azerbaijani Foreign Ministry,” said the statement.  


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.






Nagorno Garabagh