New French OSCE MG co-chair introduced at Permanent Council

# 13:47
10 November 2016

Baku. Malahat Najafova – APA. The newly-appointed French co-chair of the OSCE Minsk Group, Stefan Visconti, was introduced at the Vienna meeting of the organization's Permanent Council on Nov. 10. 


US co-chair James Warlick, Russian co-chair Igor Popov and former French co-chair Pierre Andrieu attended the meeting.


The co-chairs also held discussions on the Armenia-Azerbaijan Nagorno-Karabakh conflict.


Expressing regret over the unstable situation in Nagorno-Karabakh, the co-chairs called on Armenia and Azerbaijan to restore dialogue, Permanent representative of France to the OSCE, Ambassador Véronique Roger-Lacan tweeted on Thursday


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the OSCE Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions passed by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.



Nagorno Garabagh