OSCE MG continues to work with Karabakh conflict sides towards peaceful settlement

OSCE MG continues to work with Karabakh conflict sides towards peaceful settlement
# 07 November 2016 16:20 (UTC +04:00)

Baku. Malahat Najafova – APA. OSCE Minsk Group co-chairs continue to work with the parties to the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict towards a peaceful settlement, US co-chair of the OSCE Minsk Group James Warlick told APA on Monday.


Warlick was commenting on the statement by Armenian Deputy Foreign Minister Shavarsh Kocharyan that the talks over the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict’s settlement are frozen.


“It is important that the sides talk in good faith with the co-chairs and each other about the proposals and ideas on the table, as well as implementation of the decisions taken at the recent summits in Vienna and St. Petersburg,” said the US co-chair.   


“We look forward to the OSCE Ministerial in Hamburg as an opportunity to continue the dialogue, and are prepared to work with the parties in any way that can bring about a lasting settlement,” he added.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.


Nagorno Garabagh