Russian singers’ names removed from ‘black list’ of Azerbaijani Foreign Ministry

# 11:50
10 October 2016

Baku – APA. The names of well-known Russian musicians Timur Temirov and Soso Pavliashvili have been removed from the list of "undesirable persons" of the Azerbaijani Foreign Ministry.


The musicians addressed the formal letters to Azerbaijan’s Foreign Ministry asking for removal of ban for their entry into the country’s territory, the Foreign Ministry’s press service told APA on Oct. 10.


For a while ago there were reports in the press about Soso Pavliashvili's illegal visit to Azerbaijan’s territories occupied by Armenia and Timur Temirov's activities to engage in promotion of illegal regime established therein.


In the letters they also reiterated their great respect and esteem to the people of Azerbaijan, its culture and music, and high appreciation for the traditions of hospitality of Azerbaijan.  


In this context, Timur Temirov and Soso Pavliashvili expressed their wish to visit Azerbaijan and perform concert programs in Baku soon.


The appeals made by the mucisians have been considered in an appropriate manner and the permission has been granted for entry into the territory of Azerbaijan.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996. 


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.






Nagorno Garabagh