The Brussels Parliament exchanged views on the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict

The Brussels Parliament exchanged views on the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict
# 07 October 2016 05:31 (UTC +04:00)

Baku-APA. On October 6, the members of the Board of the Azerbaijani community of Nagorno Karabakh region of Azerbaijan , and MPs of Milli Majlis Rovshan Rzayev, Fuad Muradov who are on a visit in Brussels met with the leadership of the Brussels Parliament, the Azerbaijani Embassy in Belgium told APA.

The community members informed the interlocutors about the occupation of Azerbaijani territories by Armenia and the violation of the rights of Azerbaijanis expelled from their native lands.

It was brought to attention that the Belgian politicians can play an important role in the establishment of a direct dialogue between the Azerbaijani and Armenian communities of Nagorno-Karabakh, which can be a factor for the contribution to the settlement of the conflict.

In this context, it was announced request for assistance in the organization in Brussels of such contacts between the two communities.

In addition, it was noted that the visits to Nagorno-Karabakh without Azerbaijan's permission is contrary to international law, and it was stressed the importance of the intervention Belgium parliament for preventing similar incidents in the future.

At a meeting with the CEO of the Egmont Royal Institute of International Relations, members of the community thanked the management of the Institute for the attention paid to the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, voiced request for broader coverage in future issues of internally displaced persons in Azerbaijan.

Institute, as one of the influential centers of Europe, it is proposed to organize a dialogue between Azerbaijani and Armenian communities of Nagorno-Karabakh.

The officials promised to consider the proposals and to continue with the Azerbaijani side the discussion on the topic.

The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.

A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.

The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.

Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the OSCE Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.

Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.

Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.

Nagorno Garabagh