Warlick comments on Yerevan’s intention to rename so-called regime in Karabakh

Warlick comments on Yerevan’s intention to rename so-called regime in Karabakh
# 08 November 2016 08:48 (UTC +04:00)

Baku. Malahat Najafova – APA. The United States does not recognize the de facto regime in Nagorno-Karabakh nor does any other country, including Armenia.


The US co-chair was commenting on Yerevan’s intention to rename the so-called regime in the Armenia-occupied Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan to the “Artsakh Republic” under the fictitious process of “constitutional change”.


“It is important for all parties to work towards a negotiated settlement based on the Helsinki principles of territorial integrity, self-determination, and non-use of force,” Warlick noted.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.




Nagorno Garabagh