US crude at highest level since 2014

US crude at highest level since 2014
  • Clock-gray 00:05
  • calendar-gray 28 June 2018

The price of American benchmark West Texas Intermediate (WTI) on Wednesday hit its highest level since 2014 with Iranian sanctions and a decline in U.S. crude stocks, APA reports quoting Anadolu Agency.

 

WTI climbed 3.6 percent to $73.06 at 1 p.m. EST (1700GMT), marking its highest level since Nov. 28, 2014.

 

International benchmark Brent crude was trading at $78 at noon EST (1700GMT), its highest level since May 31, gaining around 2 percent.

 

The sudden jump came after U.S. weekly commercial crude inventories declined 9.9 million barrels last week, much higher than then expected 2.6 million barrels, according to the Energy Information Administration.

 

Moreover, the U.S. State Department urging allies and companies to stop buying crude oil from Iran by Nov. 4 also put pressure on crude prices.

Ceyhun Aliyev

Other news