FM Mammadyarov: OSCE MG co-chair countries voted for UN resolutions on Karabakh conflict

FM Mammadyarov: OSCE MG co-chair countries voted for UN resolutions on Karabakh conflict
  • Clock-gray 11:24
  • calendar-gray 24 February 2017

The OSCE Minsk Group co-chairing countries, which are also the permanent members of the UN Security Council, have voted for four UN Security Council resolutions on the Armenia-Azerbaijan Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, said Azerbaijan’s Foreign Minister Elmar Mammadyarov.


“Following the adoption of Resolution 822 in 1993, OSCE Minsk Group Chairman Mario Raffaelli was instructed to prepare a schedule for the withdrawal of armed forces from the occupied territories,” said the top Azerbaijani diplomat. “Some people think the resolutions were adopted to declare a ceasefire. However, they demand immediate and unconditional withdrawal of Armenian troops from the occupied Azerbaijani territories.”


Mammadyarov expressed his regret over the non-implementation of the UN Security Council resolutions.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.



Other news