Kamran Imanov: To justify its territorial claims, Armenia continues appropriation of Azerbaijan’s cultural heritage

Kamran Imanov: To justify its territorial claims, Armenia continues appropriation of Azerbaijan’s cultural heritage
  • Clock-gray 11:00
  • calendar-gray 20 April 2017

To justify its territorial claims, Armenia continues the appropriation of Azerbaijan’s cultural heritage, Azerbaijan Copyrights Agency Chairman Kamran Imanov said on Thursday.


He made the remarks at a conference entitled “Book publishing and digital revolution: Directions, processes, and steps into the digital publication industry,” APA reported.  


He said that the World Intellectual Property Organization's motto is "Innovation: Improving the quality of life."


"The message and the motto apply to all, including the 250,000 Azerbaijanis deported from Armenia and the 750,000 others who became refugees in our country,” added Imanov.


He noted that ignoring international decisions calling for troop withdrawal from the occupied lands, Armenia does not want peace.


“It rather tries every way to prolong the current situation, and, unfortunately, comes under no pressure from international organizations,” said Imanov.


Imanov added that numerous books and informative materials exposing Armenian historical fabrications have been published in various languages and presented to foreign guests and participants the events held by the Copyrights Agency over the past year.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.


Other news