Armenia violates ceasefire with Azerbaijan 559 times in Oct

# 08:42
1 November 2016

Baku – APA. Armenian armed forces violated the ceasefire with Azerbaijan a total of 559 times on the contact line between the two countries’ troops in October.  


According to the results of the APA’s monitoring based on the reports confirmed by the Azerbaijani Defense Ministry, enemy forces fired at Azerbaijani army positions with 60-mm mortar launchers, grenade launchers, and large-caliber machine guns.


The Azerbaijani Army last month was in complete control of the operational conditions along the front line.


Azerbaijani military positions in Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Terter, Khojavand, Goranboy, Gazakh, Gedebey, Tovuz, Goygol, and Aghstafa came under fire last month.


Armenian armed units made several sabotage attempts against the Azerbaijani Armed Forces. But these attempts were prevented in time and retaliated against. Having suffered casualties, the enemy was forced to back off. 


Azerbaijani soldier Sabir Mammadov lost his life in a ceasefire violation by the Armenian side.  


In September, the ceasefire regime had been violated 460 times.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.