Foreign Ministry: France does not recognize Nagorno-Karabakh independence

Foreign Ministry: France does not recognize Nagorno-Karabakh independence
# 09 November 2016 14:42 (UTC +04:00)

Strasbourg. Fuad Gulubeyli – APA. France does not the independence of Nagorno-Karabakh, the French Foreign Ministry’s press service said answering APA’s Europe bureau’s question as to Nagorno-Karabakh separatists’ intent to rename the illegal regime in Karabakh.


“France does not the independence of Nagorno-Karabakh. Through the mediation of the OSCE Minsk Group co-chairs, we are continuing our joint efforts to find a political solution to the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict,” the French foreign ministry official told an online press conference. 


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh. 

Nagorno Garabagh